Committee Members

The $14.7 million Measure 'K' bond was passed on November 8, 2016 with a 57.28% vote under the rules of Proposition 39 which requires the appointment of a Citizen's Oversight Committee. The purpose of the Citizen's Oversight Committee is to ensure that bond revenues are used only as specified in the bond and to annually inform the public about bond expenditures. The District has selected highly qualified individuals to serve as members of the committee.

Per applicable state and federal laws, the Measure 'K' Citizen's Oversight Committee consists of at least seven members serving two-year terms without compensation. Members may serve a maximum of two consecutive terms. No member may be a district employee, official, vendor, contractor or consultant.

The Committee must include members from the following groups: a parent or guardian of a child enrolled in the District; an active individual in a parent-teacher organization such as a PTA, PTO or school-site council; an individual who is active in a business organization representing the business community located within the District; a person who is active in a senior citizens' organization; and an individual who is active in a bona-fide taxpayers association. The Committee must also have two members of the community at-large. 
The following individuals were appointed by the Board of Education to serve on the COC:

no image

Peter Wright, Chair







 DeWerd photo

Michelle DeWerd, Member

Taxpayer Organization Member

Michelle and her family have lived in the Santa Ynez Valley for 19 years.  Michelle holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Economics from University of California, Los Angeles.  Michelle’s prior business experience is in the field of municipal finance and investment management, having been employed by regional and national investment banks in Los Angeles and New York.  Michelle’s eldest daughter is a Santa Ynez High graduate (2012) and graduated from UCLA in 2016.  Her youngest daughter is a Dunn High School graduate (2014) and is currently a junior at Northeastern University in Boston.  Michelle is a member of the Santa Barbara Taxpayers’ Association and honored to serve on the Citizens Oversight Committee.  








Valerie Fuette, Vice Chair


Valerie Fuette was born and raised in Santa Barbara.  She holds a B.A. in Politics from UC Santa Cruz, a MA in International Relations from the American University in Washington, D.C. and a professional certificate in Human Resources from the UCSB Extension Program. Valerie and her family have lived in the Santa Ynez Valley since 2002. Valerie has three children; Henry has now graduated from SYV High School (2012), Carter, a current sophomore, will be with the class of 2020, and Audrey, Eighth Grade at Solvang, will be with the class of 2022.  Through the academic years of all three of her children, Valerie has been very involved in PTSA, serving several times as a school’s PTSA President, Treasurer, Auditor and Parliamentarian.  At the District PTSA level, she has served as the Treasurer and Auditor.  Currently, Valerie is serving her second term as the President of the SYVHS PTSA.

Professionally, Valerie manages several property-based limited liability companies.  Additionally, Valerie serves as the chairperson of the Cavalletto Charities foundation, which gives specifically to the Scholarship Foundation of Santa Barbara, the Santa Barbara Foundation and the Goleta Valley Cottage Hospital.  Due to this, Valerie has served on the Boards or Committees of these three organizations.







Allan Jones, Member

Business Member







Melissa Redell, Member

Business Member

no image

Liz Dadigian, Member